Home > Review > Book Review: “Killer” by Jonathan Kellerman

Book Review: “Killer” by Jonathan Kellerman

I was lucky enough to be approved for an uncorrected draft copy of “Killer” by Jonathan Kellerman.  This is the latest in the series about Alex Delaware, a psychiatrist who consults with the Los Angeles Police Department to help them solve crimes, principally with his gay homicide detective friend, Milo Sturgis.

What did I think of the book?

This is the first Alex Delaware novel I’ve read in a while but it was nice to get back in touch with the old familiar characters. It was good to see some conflicts of interest arising for Alex which complicated his work with Milo, and the doubt he shows in his own judgement feels realistic. I won’t give any spoilers (or indeed information) about the storyline other than that, but it was a nice neat plot which I felt was wrapped up neatly without any loose ends and which kept me guessing.

I was a bit disappointed with the way one major side-plot seems to be going somewhere only to be wrapped up very quickly in the last chapter of the book, but I wouldn’t be surprised if this wasn’t the precursor to another story due down the line.

“Killer” would be a good place to jump on board for anyone who doesn’t already read these books, because it’s a self-contained story that refreshes the memory on key points.

I felt this was a pretty solid read with some interesting characters and relationships and it kept me interested enough, but it’s not one that’s likely to stay in my memory for a long time to come.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

